University Department 1974
The first Professor of Anaesthesia in Sheffield was Prof Andrew Thornton, who was appointed in 1970, the University Department dating from 1963. The 1974 University Department group, posing in the Surgical Lecture Theatre, Sheffield Royal Infirmary are, left to right: Back Row: Peter Henderson, Technician, David Wortley, Chief Technician, Steve Woodhead, Technician. Middle Row: Ann Witt, Research Assisatant, Peter Herbert, Chief Technician, Dr Mike Harrison, lecturer. Front Row: Dr Neil Appleyard, lecturer, Mrs Janet Gosney, NHS Secretary, Prof Andrew Thornton, Mrs Doreen Broadhurst, University Secretary, Dr Peter Jebson, Senior Lecturer.
We appreciate the help given by Dr David Shepherd in making a battered photograph presentable.

Museum Home | Sheffield Department of Anaesthesia